Yoga works on the level of one's body, mind, emotion and energy. This has given rise to four broad classifications of Yoga: Karma Yoga where we utilise the body; Jnāna Yoga where we utilise the mind; Bhakti Yoga where we utilise the emotion and Kriya Yoga where we utilize the energy. Each system of Yoga we practice falls within the gamut of one or more of these categories.

The four schools of Yoga (Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga and Raja Yoga)


Four stages of Jnana

  1. Nityānitya vastu viveka (नित्यानित्य वस्तु विवेकम्)
  2. Ihāmutrārtha phala bhoga virāga (इहाऽमुत्रार्थ फल भोगविरागम्)
  3. Satsangat

Śamādi ṣatka sampatti (शमादि षट्क सम्पत्ति) - The sixfold qualities a person should develop by the end of this process.

  • Śama
  • Dama
  • Uparati
  • Śraddhā
  • Samādhāna
  • Titikṣa
  1. Mumuksutva (मुमुक्षुत्वम्).

Stages of Jnana Yoga practice

  1. Shravan
  2. Manana
  3. Nidhidhyasana

Seven major chakras, and its correlation to states of consciousness.

The concepts of ida, pingla and the sushumna the central channel of energy running along the spine.


  1. Navavidha Bhakti.
  2. Qualities of a bhakt.
  3. The pronunciation, chanting, knowledge, benefits of Sanskrit chants, hymns, bhajans.
  4. Satsang and the uplifting meaning of the chants helping to thin the activities of the mind.
  5. Mantra chanting, and their effect on the nadi and the chakras.
  6. Demonstrated ability to create a bhakti bhav during the chanting and singing.

  1. The concept of karma Yoga.
  2. Prerequisites for a sthita prajna.
  3. Sthitaprajna lakshana.
  4. The law of karma.


Concepts and principles of Patanjali Yoga.
Concepts and principles of Hatha Yoga.

The widely practiced Yoga sadhanas are:

  1. Yamas.
  2. Āsanas.
  3. Prānāyāma.
  4. Pratyāhara.
  5. Dhārana.
  6. Dhyāna.
  7. Bandhas and Mudras.
  8. Śaṭkarmas.
  9. Yuktāhāra.

*Note: This Is A Road Map Towards The Yoga Tree As Per Ancient Vedic And Yogic Siddhanta In Brief. A Detailed And Elaborate Understanding Is Provided During Workshops And Teacher Training Modules.